Aanii, Tansi, Oki, Wotziye and Greetings

On behalf of Treaty six, Treaty seven and Treaty eight, and FNIHB-AB, Health Canada, we are pleased to present the 2014- 2015 HCoM Annual Report.

The theme of this year’s review is ‘Celebrating Achievements’. The choice for this theme is based on the joint commitment and hard work initiated by all HCoM partners in completing the following two critical activities for HCoM:

  1. HCoM Evaluation
  2. HCoM Strategic Plan 2010 – 2015

Both of the activities required HCoM partner participation and the commitment to maintain the momentum to move the projects to completion phases. This Annual Review will identify the joint efforts of the HCoM sub committees, stakeholders, and additional partners to improve the health outcomes of First Nations in Alberta communities through Committee and Sub Committee projects and activities.


The HCoM committee would also like to acknowledge the passionate individuals who represent their respective Treaty areas and organizations to advance the work of HCoM. There currently are over seventy-five active representatives that collaborate and participate in HCoM Committee, Sub Committees and Planning Committees. The results of these efforts are identified in the review.

We hope that this version of the Annual Review is useful and provides information that can be shared within First Nations in Alberta, Government Departments and other agencies. The goal of the HCoM committee is to strengthen communication and allow opportunities for others to learn about current health programming in First Nation communities in Alberta. Thank you for taking the time to learn more about HCoM and its partners.

Chief Rusty Threefingers
Louis Bull Tribe
Treaty Six

Glenda White
Maskwacis Health Services
Treaty Six

Sherry McDonald
Enoch Cree Nation
Treaty Six

Janice Many Heads
Treaty Seven

Margo Sitting Eagle
Co-Management Liason
Treaty Seven

Randall Spohn
Treaty Seven Management
Treaty Seven

Chief Romeo Cardinal
Bigstone Cree Nation
Treaty Eight

Dee-Ann Dulic-Pruden
Bigstone Cree Nation
Treaty Eight

Michelle Voyageur
Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta
Treaty Eight

Susan Wale
Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation Member
Treaty Eight

Jerry Lavin
Regional Director (Capital Assets & Security)
Health Canada

Kimberly Loh
Team Lead, FNIHB
Health Canada

HCoM Leadership

Chief Charles Weasel Head
Blood Tribe (Kainai)
Treaty Seven Grand Chief Bio ➝

Chief Gordon T. Auger
Bigstone Cree Nation
Treaty Eight Bio ➝

Chief Kurt Buffalo
Samson Cree Nation
Treaty Six Bio ➝

Chief Steve Courtoreille
Mikisew Cree Nation
Treaty Eight Grand Chief Bio ➝

Chief Tony Alexis
Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation
Treaty Six Grand ChiefBio ➝

Chief Vincent Old Yellow Woman
Siksika Nation
Treaty Seven Bio ➝

Jocelyn Andrews
Regional Executive Officer
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch - Alberta Region
Health Canada Bio ➝

Rhonda Laboucan
Regional Director
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch - Alberta Region
Health Canada Bio ➝




The Mission of Health Co-Management (HCoM) is:

To improve the health and well-being of First Nations’ Peoples and communities in Alberta through partnership in the delivery of holistic health and human services by:

  • Protecting the existing Alberta region envelope
  • Providing for equitable resource distribution
  • Ensuring that programs and services are delivered with the highest standards in the most cost effective manner

The mission of the HCoM Committee, consisting of First Nations (Alberta) and FNIHB personnel, is to increase the effective participation of First Nations in assessing, analyzing, planning and managing programs and services funded / offered by FNIHB Alberta Region.